Department Directory

Click here for Graduate Student Directory

ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF AND GENERAL NUMBERS

Department Office 831-459-4089 EMS A232 Fax 831-459-3074
Grace Caslavka gcaslavk@ucsc.edu 831-459-4478 EMS A233 Department Manager
Jennifer Fish jmsfish@ucsc.edu 831-459-1235 EMS A251 Graduate Program Coordinator/Advisor
Amy Kornberg amylkorn@ucsc.edu 831-459-4137 EMS A232A Department Assistant
Jade Loftus  epsadvising@ucsc.edu 831-502-7070 EMS A234A Undergraduate Advisor - Website

top


FACULTY

Terrence Blackburn terryb@ucsc.edu 831-459-2260 EMS A108
Emily Brodsky brodsky@ucsc.edu 831-459-1854 EMS C370
Patrick Chuang pchuang@ucsc.edu 831-459-1501 EMS A254 Undergraduate Faculty Advisor
Matthew Clapham mclapham@ucsc.edu 831-459-1276 EMS A208
Nicole Feldl nfeldl@ucsc.edu 831-459-3693 EMS A247
Noah Finnegan nfinnega@ucsc.edu 831-459-5110 EMS A115
Andy Fisher afisher@ucsc.edu 831-459-5598 EMS A209
Ian Garrick-Bethell igarrick@ucsc.edu 831-459-1277 EMS A137
Gary Griggs griggs@ucsc.edu 831-459-5006 EMS A317 Director, Institute of Marine Sciences
Jeremy Hourigan hourigan@ucsc.edu 831-459-2873 EMS A221
Elise Knittle eknittle@ucsc.edu 831-459-4949 EMS C468
Paul Koch plkoch@ucsc.edu 831-459-2931 NatSci Annex 204 Dean, Physical & Biological Sciences Division
Thorne Lay tlay@ucsc.edu 831-459-3164 EMS C382
Francis Nimmo fnimmo@ucsc.edu 831-459-1783 EMS A219
Susan Schwartz syschwar@ucsc.edu 831-459-3133 EMS A133 Graduate Faculty Advisor
Slawek Tulaczyk stulaczy@ucsc.edu 831-459-5207 EMS A208
Quentin Williams qwilliam@ucsc.edu 831-459-3132 EMS A212
Jim Zachos jzachos@ucsc.edu 831-459-4644 EMS A260 Department Chair
Xi Zhang xiz@ucsc.edu 831-502-8126 EMS A261

top


AFFILIATED FACULTY

Kenneth Bruland bruland@ucsc.edu 831-459-4026 EMS A446 Ocean Sciences
Weixin Cheng wxcheng@ucsc.edu 831-459-5317 ISB 416 Environmental Studies
Peggy Delaney delaney@ucsc.edu 831-459-4317 Kerr Hall 209 Ocean Sciences
Chris Edwards cedwards@ucsc.edu 831-459-3734 EMS A447 Ocean Sciences
Russell Flegal flegal@ucsc.edu 831-459-2093 PSB 454 Microbiology and Environmental Toxicology
Jonathan Fortney jfortney@ucolick.org 831-459-7285 ISB 275 Astronomy
Michael Loik mloik@ucsc.edu 831-459-5785 ISB 473 Environmental Studies
Christina Ravelo acr@ucsc.edu 831-459-3722 EMS A454

Ocean Sciences

top


LECTURERS/POSTDOCS/ASSOCIATES


Nataliya Bondarenko nbondar@ucsc.edu 831-459-5143 EMS C316 Assistant Project Scientist
Cécile Cournede ccourned@ucsc.edu EMS A218 Postdoctoral Scholar
Daniel Ebuna debuna@ucsc.edu Associate Specialist
Joseph Fackrell jfackrel@ucsc.edu Postdoctoral Fellow
Ana Garcia Garcia agarciag@ucsc.edu Assistant Project Sceintist
Thomas Goëbel tgoebel@ucsc.edu 626-676-5560 EMS C364 Postdoctoral Scholar
Luca Malatesta lcmalate@ucsc.edu Postdoctoral Scholar
Daniel Orange dano@ucsc.edu Assistant Project Scientist
Hilde Schwartz hilde@ucsc.edu 831-459-5429 EMS A347 Project Scientist, Lecturer
Shalev Siman Tov shsimant@ucsc.edu EMS C364 Postdoctoral Scholar
Mark Snyder masnyder@ucsc.edu 831-459-3504 EMS A115 Project Scientist
Zhenliang Tian ztian13@ucsc.edu Postdoctoral Scholar
Tess Weathers tweather@ucsc.edu EMS A200 Postdoctoral Scholar

top

EMERITUS FACULTY

Erik Asphaug easphaug@ucsc.edu 831-459-2260 EMS A108
Rob Coe rcoe@ucsc.edu 831-459-2393 EMS A202
Bob Garrison regarris@ucsc.edu 831-459-4401 EMS A455
Jim Gill gillord@ucsc.edu 831-459-3842 EMS A210
Gary Glatzmaier glatz@ucsc.edu 831-459-5504 EMS A102
Leo LaPorte laporte@ucsc.edu 831-459-4089
Casey Moore casey@ucsc.edu 831-459-2574 EMS A116
Eli Silver esilver@ucsc.edu 831-459-2266 EMS A142A
Othmar Tobisch otobisch@ucsc.edu 831-459-2777 EMS A137

top


RESEARCHERS

Laura Domingo Martinez ldomingo@ucsc.edu EMS
Lisa Gilbert lagilber@ucsc.edu EMS
Michal Kopera makopera@ucsc.edu EMS
Don Korycansky dkorycan@ucsc.edu 831-459-5843 EMS C328
Mikhail (Misha) Kreslavsky mkreslav@ucsc.edu 831-459-5143 EMS C316
Adina Paytan apaytan@ucsc.edu 831-459-1437 EMS C308 IMS
David Rubin drubin@ucsc.edu EMS C312
Steven Ward wardsn@ucsc.edu 831-459-2480 EMS C340
Ru-Shan Wu rwu@ucsc.edu 831-459-5135 EMS C349 Modeling and Imaging Lab
Xiao-Bi Xie
xxie@ucsc.edu 831-459-5094 EMS C324 Modeling and Imaging Lab
Xixi Zhao xzhao@ucsc.edu 831-459-5827 EMS C320 Paleomagnetism Lab

top


TECHNICAL STAFF

Dyke Andreasen andreasn@ucsc.edu 831-459-5751 EMS C512 SIMS, EMS C512; x9-5751
Ed Boring eboring@ucsc.edu 831-459-3725 EMS C379 Academic Computing Group
Colin Carney

cpcarney@ucsc.edu

831-459-5751 EMS C514 Assistant Specialist, Stable Isotope Laboratory
Brandon Cheney bcheney@ucsc.edu 831-325-5059 EMS C276 Instrument Specialist
Hannah Dailey hdailey@ucsc.edu 831-459-2838 EMS A109 Groundwater Lab
Brian Dreyer bdreyer@ucsc.edu EMS C536 Geochemistry Specialist
Eli Morris ermorris@ucsc.edu 831-440-7522 EMS A216 Instrument Specialist
Dan Sampson dsampson@ucsc.edu 831-359-9075 EMS C458 Instrument Engineer, Lead of Technical Staff
Walter Schillinger weschill@ucsc.edu 831-459-3378 EMS C458
Ambrosio Torres ocho@ucsc.edu 831-459-1609 EMS C206A Academic Computing Group

top


LABORATORIES

Biogeochemistry Lab C230 831-459-2477 Paytan
Brodsky Lab C360 Brodsky
Clapham Lab A201 Clapham
Cloud and Aerosol Lab C348 831-459-1724 Chuang
Coastal Geology A360 831-459-2403 Griggs
Crustal Imaging A142 831-459-2830 Silver, Finnegan
Electron Probe C465 831-459-4992 Sampson
Garrick-Bethell Lab Garrick-Bethell
Groundwater Lab A109 831-459-2838 Fisher, Tulaczyk
Helium Thermal Chronology C436 Hourigan, Williams
Hourigan Lab A215 831-459-2551 Hourigan
Koch Lab D206 831-459-5088 Koch
Microfossil Prep/Sediment Processing D218 Zachos
Mineral Physics C431, C483 831-459-2596 Knittle, Williams
Modeling and Imaging Lab C349, C324 831-459-5135 Wu, Xie
Paleomag. Lab Annex 831-459-4847 Coe, Morris
Planetary Sciences A101 831-459-1784 Nimmo
Rock Magnetism C442 Coe, Morris
Sediment Mechanics Lab C285 Fisher
Seismology/W.M. Keck Lab C317, C373 831-459-4426 Brodsky, Lay, Schwartz
Stable Isotope C514 831-459-5751 Andreasen, Zachos
Surface Processes Lab D237 831-459-5335 Fisher, Finnegan
Thermal Ionization C536F Sampson
Thin Section C280 Clapham
Tulaczyk Lab C279 Tulaczyk
Visualization Computer Lab A170 Morris
XRF/XRD C426, C424 Cheney