Seismo Visitors Fund

donate now button
Purpose: The Seismo Visitors Fund supports expenses associated with bringing scientific visitors to UC Santa Cruz to discuss or collaborate on geophysics, with a preference for visitors related to seismology or earthquake physics.
The seismology and earthquake physics group at UC Santa Cruz has become an intellectually vibrant and world class institution during the tenures of seismologists Thorne Lay and Susan Schwartz. Upon both of their retirements in 2023, their colleagues recognized that the research and educational enterprises are fueled by a steady flow of scientific visitors to give talks, and to collaborate and interact with students and researchers. They established this fund to promote these fruitful interactions, and funds may be used to cover travel costs, local accommodation and food, logistical support, and  events designed to foster interaction between the visitors and local students and colleagues.
thorne lay and susan schwartz