Technical Support Staff

Technical Support

The Earth & Planetary Sciences Department Technical Support Staff are ready to assist you with your technical needs. Please email epstech@ucsc.edu regarding:

  • Research Facilities

  • Instrument Engineering

  • Materials Characterization Analytical Requests

  • Tools and Materials

  • Department Field Equipment and Vehicles

  • Academic Teaching Support

Computing Support

ACG: Academic Computing Group provides support to Earth & Planetary Sciences faculty, researchers, all staff, postdocs, and graduate students. Please email eshelp@acg.ucsc.edu for help with:
  • Anonymous FTP

  • Mac and PC network printing

  • Mac and PC SSH help

  • Poster Printing

  • Scientific computing resources

  • Hardware/software assistance, technical questions, consultation, general usage questions covering Macintosh, Windows 95/98/2000/NT and UNIX (Solaris, IRIX, Linux)

  • Advice for hardware purchasing

  • Software downloads and purchasing reccommendations


Technical Staff Directory

Dyke Andreasen andreasn@ucsc.edu 831-459-5751 EMS C512 SIMS, EMS C512; x9-5751
Ed Boring eboring@ucsc.edu 831-459-3725 EMS C379 Academic Computing Group
Colin Carney cpcarney@ucsc.edu 831-459-5751 EMS C514 Assistant Specialist, Stable Isotope Laboratory
Brandon Cheney bcheney@ucsc.edu 831-325-5059 EMS C276 Instrument Specialist
Hannah Dailey hdailey@ucsc.edu 831-459-2838 EMS A109 Groundwater Lab
Brian Dreyer bdreyer@ucsc.edu EMS C536 Geochemistry Specialist
Eli Morris ermorris@ucsc.edu 831-440-7522 EMS A216 Instrument Specialist
Dan Sampson dsampson@ucsc.edu 831-359-9075 EMS C458 Instrument Engineer, Lead of Technical Staff
Walter Schillinger weschill@ucsc.edu 831-459-3378 EMS C458
Ambrosio Torres ocho@ucsc.edu 831-459-1609 EMS C206A Academic Computing Group